- Practice Areas
First Time OWI/DUI Charges – Indiana
The level of criminal charge a first time Operating While Intoxicated (OWI) will depend upon the circumstances of the offense as well as the Blood Alcohol Concentration at the time of the arrest. See Indiana Code §9-30-5-1.
C Misdemeanor OWI: Punishable up to 60 days in jail and/or fine of up to $500.
- Operating a motor vehicle with a Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) equivalent to .08 to .15.
- Operating a motor vehicle with a controlled substance in the person’s body.
A Misdemeanor OWI: Punishable from 0 days to 365 days in jail and a fine of up to $5,000.
- Operating a motor vehicle with a BAC equivalent to at least .15.
- Operating a motor vehicle while intoxicated in a manner that endangers another person.
Typically following the arrest for an OWI, they will book the individual into the county jail. The individual will remain there until a bond is posted or the individual is released on their own recognizance. Along with the possible penalties for jail time, one may also risk having a license suspension.
Our firm is able to help you with the criminal defense as well as helping you obtain driving privileges during the pending case. Our firm has handled a lot of OWI/DUI cases in Kosciusko County, Wabash County, and the surrounding counties. Each case is unique and our firm is ready to stand up and defend your rights. Give us a call or use our contact us form for a consultation today!