- Practice Areas
Criminal Charges: Indiana Underage Drinking/Minor Consumption
As a minor, one of the most common influences at this age is alcohol. It can be easy for them to give in to the adolescent theory that underage drinking is acceptable and there are no real consequences to worry about. But in Indiana, this is far from the truth.
Indiana makes it illegal for anyone under age 21 to:
- Consume, possess, or transport alcohol. It is illegal for anyone under the age of 21 to knowingly consume or possess an alcoholic beverage. Minors are also prohibited from transporting alcohol unless they are accompanied by a parent or guardian who is at least 21 years of age.
- Make a false statement in order to obtain alcohol. It is illegal for anyone under the age of 21 to intentionally make a false statement about their age to obtain alcohol. This includes presenting a fake ID to make the purchase of alcohol.
- Enter a bar or any public place that furnishes or sells alcoholic beverage. It is illegal for anyone under the age of 21 to enter a bar or public place that furnishes or sells alcoholic beverages. There are several exceptions to this rule such as: civic center, convention center, sports arenas, bowling alleys, drug and grocery stores, and many others.
- Operate a motor vehicle while under the influence of alcohol. Indiana has a zero tolerance law for minors who operate a motor vehicle while intoxicated. If you are under the age of 21 and have a blood alcohol concentration of .02% or more, you will lose your driver’s license for one year and face other penalties.
For minors ages 18 to 20 can face prosecution for each of these offenses in adult criminal court. The punishment for a conviction include incarceration in jail, fines, and driver’s license suspensions. A judge also might order you to complete an alcohol treatment program if you’re convicted or order a term of probation.
Juvenile Underage Drinking:
When a minor under age 18 is suspected of an alcohol-related offense, the charge is handled in a different court than for someone over age 18. The juvenile system is designed with rehabilitation in mind rather than punishment. However, punishments may include:
- Community service
- Alcohol or substance abuse treatment
- Payment of restitution to any victims
- Placement in foster care or group home
- Driver’s license suspension of at least 60 days
Get Proper Representation for Your Criminal Case.
Have you been charged with any of the above underage drinking cases in Kosciusko or in the surrounding area? If so, our criminal defense attorneys at Vanderpool Law Firm, PC can provide the tough legal representation you need. We have assisted numerous clients in Kosciusko, Wabash and several other counties. Give us a call or use our contact us form for a consultation today!