Skip to Content

Indiana Driving While Suspended

Thursday, July 22, 2021


Driving While Suspended can be found in the Indiana Code at IC 9-24-19. Section 1 (IC 9-24-19-1) provides that a “person who operates a motor vehicle upon a highway while the person’s driving privilege, license, or permit is suspended or revoked commits a Class A infraction.” However, there are circumstances in which this can be elevated to a misdemeanor or even a felony.


Driving While Suspended Misdemeanor:

The Class A misdemeanor charge for driving on a suspended license carries a potential penalty of up to 1 year in jail and fines reaching $5,000.

Driving While Suspended Felony:

However, if during the operation of the vehicle, something happens (an auto accident, for instance) that causes injury to someone you could face a Level 6 Felony charge for driving on the suspension. This felony charge carries a potential sentence of 6 months to 2.5 years in prison and fines reaching $10,000.

License Suspension:

In addition to jail or prison time and fines, you will face an extension of your license suspension. This additional suspension can add another 90 days to 2 years onto your suspension. The judge will determine exactly how much based on the specifics of your offense.

Driving While Suspended Criminal Defense Attorneys:

 If you are charged with driving while suspended, it is important to seek experienced criminal attorney. A conviction for driving while suspended can have both immediate and long term consequences. If so, our criminal defense attorneys at Vanderpool Law Firm, PC can provide the tough legal representation you need. We have assisted numerous clients in Kosciusko, Wabash, Whitley, Fulton and several other counties. Give us a call or use our contact us form for a consultation today!